

Punjab Clinch 3rd Rama Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament

Himachal women team today won the last match of the three match series against Punjab Women team for the 3rd Rama Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament played at GMSSS Sector 26 Chandigarh. Having won the first two encounters Punjab won the trophy with a 2-1 lead in the three match series. Himachal today scored an exciting one run win against Punjab. Winning the toss Himachal Captain Shivani Sharma opted to bat and their openers Harleen Deol and Nikita Chauhan and the duo put on 27 runs in 4.3 overs before Nikita Chauhan was snapped by wicket keeper Taniya Bhatia off Harpreet Dhillon for 12 off 14 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries. Next in Neena Chaudhary and other opener Harleen Deol were involved in a mix-up resulting in Harleen Deol being run out by Harpreet Dhillon for 18 off 25 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries. Mehak Kesar then cleaned up Chitra Singh for 01 and had Shivani Sharma caught by Jasia Akhatar for 04 and getting Neena Chaudhary caught by Amarpal for 11 to reduce Himachal to 51 for 5 in 12.3 overs. Thereafter Tanuja Kanwar and Vandana Rana joined in a 37 runs stand for the 6th wicket before Tanuja Kanwar who was run out by Jasia Akhtar for an exciting 28 off 24 balls studded with 3 boundaries. Reducing Himachal to 88 for 6 in 18.1 overs. Jasia Akhtar then ran out Kaushalya Thakur for zero and Parveen Khan ran out Vandana Rana for 08 before the Himachal innings ended at 97 for 8 in 20 overs. For Punjab Mehak Kesar 3 for 12 and Harpreet Dhillon 1 for 17 were the main wicket takers.

Replying Punjab Opened with Jasia Akhtar and Asha Rani, Jasia Akhtar was dropped in the covers on the very first balls of the over. Thereafter she along with Asha Rani put on 25 runs for the first wicket before Jasia Akhtar was caught by Tanuja off Sushmita for 15 off 21 balls inclusive of one boundary. Wicket keeper Taniya Bhatia who joined Asha Rani added 15 runs for the 2nd wicket before Asha Rani became Sushimita's second victim as she had her caught and bowled for 8 off 26 balls. Taniya Bhatia soon followed suit when she was castled by Renuka Thakur for 12 off 12 balls inclusive of one boundary. At this stage Punjab were 42 for 3 in 10.1 overs. Amarpal Kaur and Parveen Khan then added 22 runs for the 4th wicket before Amarpal Kaur was smartly stumped by wicket keeper Kaushalya Thakur off Harleen Deol for 10. Tanuja Kanwar then trapped Harpreet Dhillon in front of the wicket for 09 and Harleen Deol struck the most vital blow when she had skipper Parveen Khan caught by Shivani Sharma for 21 off 26 balls. Tanuja Kanwar then cleaned up Neelam Bisht for 02 and thereafter Anisha ran out Mehak Kesar for 03. Needing 7 runs of the last over for a win Punjab lost Rajni Devi through a run out for 01 and failed to reach the target by one run. H.P. Women team won the final match of the tri series by one run in an exciting finish. For Himachal Kanwar 2 for 11, Sushmita 2 for 19 and Harleen Deol 2 for 25 were the most successful bowlers.

Tanuja Kanwar for her all round performance was named the woman of the match. Mr. Vivek Atray gave away the winners and runners up trophy while the best bowlers of the series award went to Mehak Kesar of Punjab while best batswoman declared was Tanuja Kanwar of HP. Mr. Mohinder Singh, Asstt. Secretary, Women Cricket Punjab distributed the individual awards to the players.